Confirmed Plenary Speakers at mmc2019: 

  • Prof Dr Wolfgang Baumeister

    Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry

    Wolfgang Baumeister studied biology, chemistry and physics at the Universities of Muenster and Bonn, Germany, and he obtained his Ph.D. from the University of Düsseldorf in 1973. From 1973-1980 he was Research Associate in the Department of Biophysics at the University of Duesseldorf. He held a Heisenberg Fellowship spending time at the Cavendish Laboratory in Cambridge, England. In 1982 he became a Group Leader at the Max-Planck-Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried, Germany and in 1988 Director and Head of the Department of Structural Biology. He is also an Honorary Professor on the Physics Faculty at the Technical University in Munich. In 2000 he spent time at the California Institute of Technology as a Moore Distinguished Scholar.

    Wolfgang Baumeister made seminal contributions to our understanding of the structure and function of the cellular machinery of protein degradation, in particular the proteasome. Moreover, he pioneered the development of cryo-electron tomography. His contributions to science were recognised by numerous awards including the Otto Warburg Medal, the Schleiden Medal, the John M. Cowley Medal, the Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine, the Stein and Moore Award, the Harvey Prize in Science and Technology and the Ernst Schering Prize. He is a member of several academies including the US National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

    Wolfgang is the recipient of an RMS Honorary Fellowship, this will be presented at mmc2019.


  • Prof Jody Rosenblatt

    King's College London

    Jody Rosenblatt is Professor of Cell Biology in the Faculty of Life Sciences & Medicine, School of Basic & Medical Biosciences and School of Cancer & Pharmaceutical Sciences who has recently moved her lab from the Huntsman Cancer Institute at the University of Utah.  She holds an Edna and H. A. Benning Endowed Chair and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Faculty Scholar Award.  During her Ph.D. at the University of California, San Francisco with Dr. Timothy Mitchison, she studied actin filament turnover and as a post-doc at the MRC-LMCB at University College London, she discovered epithelial cell extrusion, a process that eliminates dying cells without forming any gaps.  Her lab studies how epithelia maintain constant cell numbers through cell death and cell division and have found that mechanical forces control each process; when cells become too crowded, they extrude some cells that later die and when cells are too sparse stretch activates cells to rapidly divide. Surprisingly, both opposing processes require the same stretch-activated calcium channel, Piezo1, depending on the force encountered. Extrusion is critical for regulating epithelial cell number, as they find that aggressive metastatic cancers and asthma can result from defective extrusion signalling. Understanding the basic cell biology of cell death is now revealing new aetiologies for diseases that currently lack treatments. We believe that understanding the roots of a disease will better pave the way to finding its cure, rather than merely managing its symptoms.


  • Prof Helen Saibil

    Birkbeck, University of London

    Helen Saibil established the cryo electron microscopy lab at Birkbeck College, in the prehistoric era when electron micrographs were recorded on photographic film. Her research focuses on macromolecular machines, both in vitro and in their cellular context. A major area of interest is the action of molecular chaperones in assisting protein folding, unfolding and disaggregation. In addition, her group studies membrane pore formation by bacterial toxins and immune system pore-forming proteins, and the actions of intracellular pathogens on host membranes. The main approach is three-dimensional reconstruction of protein complexes in solution or interacting with liposomes, or of cellular samples, by single particle analysis, electron tomography and correlative light and electron microscopy. She has also been involved in the establishment of the national facility for biological cryo electron microscopy at the Diamond synchrotron.


  • Dr Sergei Kalinin

    Oak Ridge National Laboratory

    Sergei Kalinin is the director of the Institute for Functional Imaging of Materials (IFIM) and distinguished staff member at the Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. He received his MS degree from Moscow State University in 1998 and Ph.D. from the University of Pennsylvania (with Dawn Bonnell) in 2002.

    His research presently focuses on the applications of big data and artificial intelligence methods in atomically resolved imaging by scanning transmission electron microscopy and scanning probes, as well as mesoscopic studies of electromechanical and transport phenomena via scanning probe microscopy.

    Sergei has co-authored >600 publications, with a total citation of >25,000 and an h-index of >78. He is a fellow of MRS, APS, IoP, IEEE, Foresight Institute, and AVS; a recipient of the RMS medal for Scanning Probe Microscopy (2015); Blavatnik Award for Physical Sciences (2018), Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) (2009); Burton medal of Microscopy Society of America (2010); 3 R&D100 Awards (2008, 2010, and 2016); and a number of other distinctions.  


  • Prof Keith Riles

    University of Michigan

    Keith Riles is the H. Richard Crane Professor of Physics at the University of Michigan and a founding member of the LIGO Scientific Collaboration. Originally a high energy experimentalist working at electron-positron colliders, Riles was drawn to the then-nascent field of gravitational waves in 1997 by the intriguing science and by the precision technology needed to carry out that science. He initially led the LIGO detector characterization group and more recently has led searches for continuous gravitational waves from galactic neutron stars. The LIGO discovery in September 2015 of gravitational waves from the collision and merger of two massive black holes 1.3 billion years ago and the detection in August 2017 of colliding neutron stars have created a new scientific realm of gravitational wave astronomy, one which Riles looks forward to exploring for years to come.


  • Prof Klaus Hahn

    University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

    Klaus Hahn obtained his B.S in Biochemistry from the University of Pennsylvania, a doctorate in Chemistry from the University of Virginia, and was a postdoctoral fellow at the Center for Fluorescence Research at Carnegie Mellon University.  In his lab at Scripps Research Institute, and now at UNC-Chapel Hill Medical School, he develops molecular approaches to visualize and control signaling in living cells. Using these tools, he and his colleagues ask how the rapid spatio-temporal dynamics of signaling control immune cell interactions, platelet production, and adhesion dynamics/structure. They strive to produce broadly applicable new approaches, including biosensors based on minimally perturbing designs, engineering allosteric networks in proteins to confer control by light or small molecules, and probing conformational changes of individual molecules in living cells.   Klaus Hahn is the Thurman Distinguished Professor of Pharmacology at UNC and a fellow of the AAAS. He is a recipient of the NIH’s James Shannon Director’s Award and an NIH Transformative Grant. His lab’s work on biosensors was named one of the “10 Breakthroughs of the Decade” by Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology.

    Klaus is the recipient of the 2019 Pearse Prize, this was presented at mmc2019.

Share this